It’s Valentine’s Day

And so this dreaded day is upon us again. Obviously it isn’t dreaded by everyone and, in fact, I’m sure I would love the damn day. If only it came a bit later. Maybe 24 Feb? Because I honestly feel it’s too early in the year, so I never have my sh*t together enough to actually have a date. Yeah, I could get a girlfriend in ten days.

But anyway, don’t let V-day drag you down. Why not stay in with a some of the finest examples of love and variations thereupon that cinema can muster? I’m a huge believer in romance. And love. Even the cheesy stuff. As my movie taste can attest to.

Here are some great Valentine’s Day choices:

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Edward Scissorhands

When Harry Met Sally

Annie Hall

(it’s come to my attention that Annie Hall should be in the depressing aisle, but having not seen it in a while, I remember it being quite sweet. And it’s Woody Allen, c’mon)

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist

Juno

Ten Things I Hate About You

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Baz Luhrman’s Romeo and Juliet

Lost in Translation

Say Anything

LATE ENTRY: Groundhog Day (he cheats by having eternity to make her fall in love with him, but it’s brilliant)

And if you’re in a depressed mood and looking to feel worse (or better, can’t always predict the effect these things will have):

500 Days of Summer (for some depression lite)

Closer (wouldn’t be my first choice, but everyone’s horrible to each other)

Revolutionary Road (some more horrible-ness)

Never Let Me Go (here we go, this stuff will break you…)

Blue Valentine (and then for the final, gorgeous blow, have a go at the two in this.)

Leave a Reply

